22
Feb
09

Fashion Guru of The Week 02/23/09

dsc01259

NAME: Ameshia Aadila

AGE: 19

HOMETOWN: PG County, MD

1. WHAT INSPIRES YOU WHEN CHOOSING YOUR CLOTHING?

Love… My attitude… The season… I just wear what I feel… Like my heart on my sleeve… In other words.

2.WHO ARE SOME OF YOUR FAVORITE LABELS/DESIGNERS AND WHY?

I don’t have favorites… I’m not a materialistic person… I just grab what I like… And I’m cheap.

3. NAME A FEW PIECES (CLOTHING, SHOES, ACCESSORIES, ETC.) THAT YOU CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT…

I can’t live with out my leather vest… But overall I can live without them all.  I’d rather be nude. LoL.

4. WHAT TRENDS ARE  YOU LOOKING FORWARD TO/PREDICTING FOR THE FUTURE (NEXT SEASON, NEXT YEAR…)?

I can’t wait until the spring. My sister and I are designing our whole spring wardrobe. I’m making some jewelry also… Out of wood and other raw natural materials.

JoeCouture.

2 Responses to “Fashion Guru of The Week 02/23/09”


  1. 1 mesh
    March 6, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Ms Aadila is FLYY!

    Quite Flyy, I even noticed her ensemble and coupled swag WHEN SHE FIRST ENTERED THE MENSWEAR SHOW during DC Fashion Week.

    However I have to profess myself not totally smitten with this.

    A “GURU” is defined as someone who “imparts initiation.” In laymen’s terms, they START something new…and while Ms. Aadila may do this all the time…she does not do it here.

    Where’s the originality?

    I see a young women who (albeit is clearly fashionable) has done nothing more than a masterful IMITATION of Janelle Monae…

    I want her to prove me wrong.

    Show me that she has a style that is not based off of imitation, but EMULATION! Show me that you can take Janelle Monae and turn it into AMESHA AADILA!

    Cuz this look..while badd as hell…I feel is not the best you can give me. Sexy, Sophisticated, Fashionable, Stylistic, yes yes yes you clearly are all those. But it is not until you show me YOUR TRUE SELF that I can call you a guru.

    Of the highest regard

    ~MESH
    ~~AR!

  2. 2 mesh
    March 8, 2009 at 2:54 am

    Aaron…My MESH partner…I have to disagree with you! (shocking I know)

    here is why:

    I’m tired of the notion that people “bite” celebrities’ swags or styles.
    Whose to say that Ameshia doesn’t naturally feel the need to dress like this. Or that she has never heard/seen Janelle Monae or anyone to that effect.

    It’s funny that when an individual does something that has ANY similarity to what a famous person did…it automatic becomes the famous person’s swag and that person is the immediate imitator….why?

    Yes a GURU initiates rather than imitate…but even those who “originate” trends are imitating past trends but putting their own emphasis on it.

    Although I feel that Ameshia outfit is fly because of her swagger rather than just because of the clothes she chose to wear… I think that I still can get a grasp of her based on this outfit alone.

    Fashion is mere clothes. Style is putting these mere clothes together. While Swagger is a combination of fashion, style, and a overweighing persona that shows through the choices you make in the first two (fashion/style).

    Just my opinion–

    MESH
    -CJ


Leave a Reply

urbancouturecontact@gmail.com

UC Twitter

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

