30
Jul
09

Gentlemen Get Groomed

Kid Cudi GQIn this month’s issue of GQ Magazine, the Conde Nast Publication did a feature about neat hairstyles for men, one of those being the “Neo-fro” as epitomized by Kid Cudi- a style I’m going for currently, though I’m starting to reconsider that (Some things aren’t for everyone… Though I don’t look bad at all!). Rather than take the entire article– besides, Cudi was the only African American featured- I’d figure I would offer my own hair grooming tips:

1. If you don’t have him/her (yes fellas, females can cut, and from my experience, well), GET A LEGIT BARBER.

Hair Brush

2. For everyday upkeep, get a hard, medium, and soft hairbrush. The soft is for the days following your cut, provided it’s cut low. The medium brush is used as your hair grows. And if you’re at the hard brush stage, it’s about that time to invest in a cut.

Shea Butter

3. Long gone are the days of “Blue Magic” Hair Grease and “Luster’s Pink Oil.” Step it up to a hair mosturizer, such as ” Shea Butter Moisturizer by Fantasia IC.” I’ve just started using it, and I’m a fan already. For guys with “The Cudi” or something similar, all you have to do is apply, style, and go. It helps the hair to retain moisture, as well as give it a nice luster.

4. I don’t need this much, but if it applies, there’s nothing wrong with getting a line-up weekly. I honestly shouldn’t have to remind you of that.

Men's Haircuts

5. If you’re sporting facial hair, keep it tight! There’s nothing more unsightly than wild, unkept facial hair. Especially if you’re considering good employment. Facial hair is to be treated like the hair on your dome. It should actually compliment the style, not take away from it. Act accordingly!

Anymore tips, feel free to add!

Stay Classick!

JoeCouture.

4 Responses to “Gentlemen Get Groomed”


  1. July 30, 2009 at 11:06 am

    cOol BLog TallaS, and JoE!
    I visited the blog before…pretty interesting..you guys definitely have an eye for this type of thing!
    Keep up the good work!

    and maybe because i use the hard brush often..and not the soft brush after the cut…my waves wont wave lmao!

  2. 2 urbancouture
    July 30, 2009 at 11:15 am

    thanks man. we truly appreciate the love.

    CoutureSteez

  3. 3 joecouture
    July 30, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Thanks Jorge!

    Well, another tip. I know this is a bit tedious,but it works. I learned from my barber:
    Whenever you have free time, brush your hair. Make sure it’s in the same pattern, so the waves will flow that way. Additionally, make sure every time you wash your hair, moisturize/grease it afterwards.

    But yeah, def invest in a softer brush. Not only does it work well, it doesn’t make you cringe when you’re brushing! lol.

    JoeCouture.

  4. 4 AR
    July 30, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    I was almost interested in reading the GQ article until you told me Cudi was the only African American.

    What is wrong with American fashion magazines and their lack of melanin (though I won’t go hard on GQ as they do pretty well with catering to all types of men..usually)?

    great post regardless.

    AR.


Leave a Reply

urbancouturecontact@gmail.com

UC Twitter

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

